The Bill Thake Memorial Award was presented at the 2019 Economic Development Summit. The event took place today at the North Grenville Municipal Centre. 

Warden of Counties Council Pat Sayeau introduced the three nominees: Ken Davies (Township of Rideau Lakes), Terri Dawson (Township of Leeds and the Thousand Islands) and Debbie Wilson (North Grenville). 

He noted the late Bill Thake was known for his leadership and mentoring skills. 

Sayeau explained his dedication to Westport and the greater Leeds-Grenville area is legendary. He says Thake broke many records, serving 52 consecutive years on Westport council to set a Canada-wide record of the longest serving head of a municipality.

Sayeau noted that Thake was Warden of the United Counties for an unsurpassed four terms. He explained those who knew him well remember his warmth and sense of humour. 

Debbie Wilson, co-owner of Grahame’s Bakery in Kemptville, won the award. She is the Chair of the Old Town Kemptville BIA, Vice Chair of the Community and Economic Development Advisory Committee and a founding member of the Kemptville District Community Association. Wilson also helped found the Kemptville & District Sports Hall of Fame in 2010.

She says she’s deeply humbled and honoured by the recognition. Wilson thanked North Grenville Council for the nomination.