Listen Live
HomeNewsLater start times for all UCDSB, CDSBEO schools

Later start times for all UCDSB, CDSBEO schools

Bell times are changing for 34 area schools this fall. Classes will start at 8:00am for secondary schools and between 9:15 and 9:30am for elementary schools.

The change is a joint venture between the Upper Canada District School Board (UCDSB), Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (CDSBEO) and Student Transportation of Eastern Ontario (STEO).

Bus pick-up and drop-off schedules will reflect the new unified school day. The move will save the two boards around $3.3 million over the next three years.

John McAllister, UCDSB & STEO Board Chairman, says the changes came about because the government expects all transportation consortia to be efficient and effective.

- Advertisement -

The changes will be phased in over three years, according to McAllister, starting with schools in Lanark, Smiths Falls and Leeds. He says phase two will be for schools in the central region, followed by the east in 2021.      

On average, bell time changes and the corresponding changes to bus schedules will shift by about 15 to 25 minutes. Click here for a full list of affected schools. 

Open houses are set for June 10 at Carleton Place High School and June 13 at St. John Elementary School. Both sessions run from 6:30 to 8:00pm.

For more information, contact STEO by calling 1-855-441-1589 or click here

- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading